You’re using what?? [Linux, that’s what]

Windoze

Cornerstone University, fall of 2010, I’m a brand new freshman and they hand me a new Dell Latitude E6410 laptop. I shrug, don’t really want it. I had bought my own laptop (with help, thanks Mom and Dad!) not too long before, and I liked it a lot better. So I stash the Dell under my desk and pretty much forget about it. After all, why use the same laptop as all 300 of your class?

I end up never using the Dell in college, except to pull it out every once in awhile to see if it still turns on. I go through my first laptop, then a Macbook, and eventually buy a nice gaming laptop. I almost recycle the Dell. After all, every time I’ve tried to use it, it barely functions at all, much worse than the same model that my college classmates had.

Linux

Before recycling it, I researched ways to destroy all the data on my hard drive. Not that I had a lot, but I did use it here and there for some basic web browsing, so I thought that it could still have passwords for websites, maybe my credit card information still stored on it. That’s when I started reading about Linux. I thought to myself, what better way to delete all that info than to destroy the actual partitions and install an entirely different OS, with a whole different file system on it?

I was still planning on recycling the Dell after overwriting Windows, but I’d at least check out what Linux is like first. I installed a version of Linux called Ubuntu and I thought it was pretty cool. And the best thing was, my Dell actually worked! With Windows 7, this computer could barely even turn on or open Chrome or anything. With Ubuntu, it actually functioned, and not only that, it worked pretty darn well for being at least 6 years old. I liked this pretty well!

I kept reading online about all the cool free and open source programs out there, especially as relating to Linux, and I found another version of Linux called Ubuntu Studio. Based on regular Ubuntu, it also comes with a suite of audio production, video production, and graphic design programs. All free!

So I’ve kept the Dell, and it’s what I’ve been using to write this post, as well most of this website.

